When Marror is Not Kosher

Most people are aware that Romaine lettuce (which many people use for Marror) must be insect free.   It may be purchased pre-washed and checked, or you may clean and wash it yourself.  Romaine lettuce hearts are relatively clean and not difficult to render insect-free.  I will include my suggestions for cleaning a few common … Continued

Wines, Beers, and other “Hard” Drinks

One of the especially satisfying aspects of my Kashrus work is seeing how the major Kashrus agencies pool their resources and expertise to serve the Kosher consumer.  The major Kashrus agencies belong to AKO, which is an umbrella Kashrus organization.  AKO promotes Kashrus by facilitating the cooperation of the major agencies and supporting the work … Continued

But what Could Be the Problem with – Vegan? Fish? Milk?

Many people wonder why a vegan or a fish restaurant needs supervision.  While it is true that vegan (and fish) restaurants have less kashrus concerns than other eateries, they still have very significant areas of concern for the Kosher consumer. Did an observant Jew turn on the fire? Was Israeli produce (very common at higher … Continued

Glatt Kosher – Consumer Alert

Please be careful to verify that any product (that needs certification) is certified by an agency which you trust. Unfortunately, unscrupulous vendors have been selling products – including meat – with subpar supervisions imitating the markings of reputable Kashrus agencies. These vendors change the symbols enough so that they don’t run afoul of the law, … Continued

Canned Tomatoes and Vegetables

Lieber’s and other brands of canned tomatoes may contain sprouted seeds.  These are NOT worms, and do not present any kashrus concerns.  Due to changes in manufacturing, it is recommended that CANNED vegetables have a reliable supervision.

Pure Honey / Specialty Honeys

Please be aware the “Forest honey”, “Honeydew Honey” and “Beechwood Honey”, refer to honey produced by bees that have consumed the nectar from aphids.  They should be avoided.   Some honey blends contain these varieties, which would be identified on the product’s ingredients label.  Please check your honey to ensure that these varieties are not listed. Note:  … Continued

Some Laws of Separating Challah

Instant Fresh Baked Challah Many families purchase ready-made challos that just need to be put into the oven and baked.  Who separates the Challah?  Based upon research – the bakery separates the Challah.  Since the bakery might keep the amount of dough which is obligated in Challah the obligation is the bakery’s. Shiur (Amount) Only … Continued

Morah – Let’s Make Challah!

Many teachers make Challah with their students, which they divide and send home.  Does Challah need to be separated?  If the dough is baked before distribution, Challah is separated.  If the teacher does not bake the challah, but sends it home as dough – and no portion of the dough contains the amount of “Challah” (2 lb. … Continued

Dairy Products without a “D” Designation

The most prevalent type of Kashrus mislabeling is the inadvertently dropped Dairy designation.  It is recommended that you check unfamiliar products that have a Kosher Symbol without any Dairy or Parve designation for milk, whey, butter, casein, lactose, and lactic acid (which may be either dairy or parve).  In cases of uncertainty you should feel free to … Continued